Posted by Dora Dye on Jun 29, 2019
The May Board meeting was held on the evening of May 28, 2019 at the home of President Rhonda Poppen and Bill Poppen. Present were Rhonda Poppen, David Dye, Jim Bradley, Sacha Shashi, Scott Plakun, Lynn Luckow, JT Forbus, Casey Blair, Frank Yoke, Kathryn McCall (via phone conference), Gary Dales, and Dora Dye. Bill Poppen participated during the membership portion of the meeting. Secretary-elect Dora Dye recorded the minutes as Club Secretary Luis Moran was absent.
The Board:
  • Reviewed and discussed the upcoming events on the Club calendar.
  • Selected Mary Liu as the next Rotarian of the Month in recognition of her many contributions in the short time since she joined the Club.
  • Reviewed the minutes for its April 30, 2019 meeting.
Jim presented the Treasurer’s Report and reported that the figures show that our Club and Rotary Service are both in good financial shape.
Frank talked about how missing the District Governor's goals for high participation in "Every Rotarian Every Year" (a program, also known as EREY, that encourages all Rotarians to donate to The Rotary Foundation of Rotary International annually) prevented our Club from earning the District Best Club award for the 2018-19 Rotary year. Casey and Frank will pay special attention to the incoming District Governor’s goals to make sure we qualify for a Best Club award in 2019-20.
Bill presented the individual membership applications of Neeraj Miglani and Kelly Stieglitz. The Board reviewed the corporate membership applications of Alliance for Smiles and Roots of Peace. All were approved. Dora announced that she would lead the reconciliation of our own member data in ClubRunner against the records on file at Rotary International (RI), which needs to be completed by June 30, 2019.
The Board reviewed, discussed, and modified the recommendations from the Club's grant review committee for District Designated Funds (DDF), youth leadership projects, community service projects, and international service projects. The Board approved the transfer of $5,000 from the RYLA account to the youth leadership grant.